LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resources: Finding Articles

Find Articles - Use the Databases

Databases search thousands of journals, magazines, and/ or newspapers all at once. These are the most useful in the field of healthcare, but Murray State has many others that may prove helpful on the Database A-Z list. The Database A-Z list is an alphabetical listing of all the electronic databases at the library. If the PDF or HTML link isn't provided under the result, click on the yellow "Find it @ MSU" button in order to get the article electronically full text via a different database; find the physical copy of the article in the library via Search; or, if the those methods aren't available, request via interlibrary loan.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Indexes newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals in all disciplines. Contains a significant amount of full-text. Content available from 1915-present.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. Coverage from 1900-present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources including educational journals and 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's index of professional publications. Recommended as an adjunct to library resources. Especially strong in the sciences & technology. NOTE: ON CAMPUS USE will include and access to MSU copies of the articles.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Web-based portal with access to journals, textbooks, practice guidelines, and assessment tools. Includes access to the DSM-V-TR.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over one million articles in 1,700 journals from over 50 countries. Includes abstracts for dissertations, books and chapters ranging from 1887 to the present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides 500 full-text titles which include topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text scientific database with articles from over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 10,000 books. More than 9.5 million articles/chapters with a content base growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX(tm) with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Search Tips for Better Results

Source: Oregon State

Remember: Databases don’t answer questions like Google. Use keywords, including synonyms.
Skip extraneous words: the, an, and, what, is, etc.
Use quotation marks to identify compound subjects "objective c"
The asterisk * is a truncation tool that allows you to search for multiple versions of the same word in many library databases. Searching comput* will get computer, computers, computing or computation.
Use Boolean Operators to combine search terms. PHP OR Hypertext Preprocessor.
Use Subject searches in library databases to find more relevant articles:
- programming languages OR computer program language as a SUBJECT
- visual programming OR visual programming language as a SUBJECT
- software engineering OR computer programming as a SUBJECT
Limit by date (last 5 years) in library databases and Google.
Be prepared to use Interlibrary Loan to request resources that aren't available full-text online.